top of page

"Jesus, The Perfect Gift!"



My momma, the beautiful Masterpiece you’ve often heard me speak about as being the modeler of and introduction to Jesus, has been singing since 6 years old and for many years was a Gospel singer frequently featured as a soloist in many churches around our city, for which I usually had a front row seat. One of the songs I often heard her sing and to this day causes a familiar warmth to spread through me is “Magnify the Lord”. My siblings and I often tease her about it because we knew when we heard the first chords and saw her stand in radiant joy before the microphone ready to hit operatic high notes, a few moments later not only would the choir and church erupt in joyous worship but she would soon follow suit and be bowed down or leaping in worship -- think king David (but her clothes stayed on!) --and would never miss a note or stop singing, mind you! Take in its' lyrics:


"Magnify the Lord. Magnify His Holy Name.

For He is great and His mercy endureth forever.

For He is great and His mercy endureth forever.

For He is great and His mercy endureth forever.

And ever. And ever.

Forever and ever, magnify [magnify]His Holy Name.

Forever and ever, magnify [magnify]His Holy Name.

Forever and ever, magnify [magnify]His Holy Name.

MAGNIFY! HIS! HOLY! NAME!"


I reflect on that song today because I realize that this is what the Advent Season is to me. Not only a time to reflect on and anticipate the birth of Jesus, but to magnify Him! The Baby that was born to die and rise again, the Child Who was born a King, but would humbly live as a Servant, the Infant that would cause other babies to leap in utero and grown men and animals to fall on their knees in reverence but would quietly be about His Father’s business! That is the Child born unto us that I look forward to in Advent Season and the Savior I praise every day. There is something about the Name Jesus. Oh magnify the Lord with me! Will you please? Amen, Amen and Amen 🙏🏾!!!


Yours in Christ!


Dr. Quahana


Want to enjoy some of the Scriptures inspiring this entry? [NLT version unless otherwise stated.]

Comments


bottom of page