top of page

"He Calls You by Name"



Isaiah 43:1

"But now, O Jacob, listen to the Lord who created you. O Israel, the One who formed you says, 'Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you. I have called you by name; you are Mine.'"


1 John 3:1

"See how very much our Father loves us, for He calls us His children, and that is what we are! But the people who belong to this world don’t recognize that we are God’s children because they don’t know Him."

[Emphasis added.]


I love my name, its beautiful meaning and rich history and the legacy with which it was bestowed upon me by mother as she and my daddy spent nine months preparing and praying for my arrival [as they did with my older and younger siblings]. It is a reflection of my Indian ancestry and a testimony that I was thought of, looked upon and carefully planned for. That is why I will not answer to another name. Believe me, countless times folks were amazed, yes flabbergasted and even offended, when I did not answer to Pocahontas, Moana or Kiana, etc. In fact, it is literally pronounced exactly how it is spelled, so its flagrant mispronunciations usually receive little to no mercy from me [sorry, but we all learned in grammar school about syllables and sounding out our vowels and consonants]. And I love you anyway!


Our two passages today delight me because both Isaiah and John, are reminding us of one thing --> Christians belong to Father God and as our Father He not only names us but calls us by our names. Therefore, Christ followers, we should not and cannot answer to the false names, labels and lies the Devil attempts to slap on our foreheads. As ambassadors of Christ, we must answer to the names Father God calls us. In doing so we walk in freedom in our identity as a Christ follower and precious child of God.

In 1 John 3, the Apostle John is reminding Christians that we are like Christ and called by His Name. We bear His image and share in His glory by living righteously as we await His return. This is possible by being completely dependent upon Jesus to walk uprightly and be Holy Spirit led. Being called a 'CHRISTian" is a reminder that the root of our name is the root of our strength and salvation... Jesus the Christ! The preceding chapters included admonition to remain submitted to Jesus and in intimate fellowship with Him. John also warned Christians to guard against false teachings, false teachers, habitual sin and the condemnation and shame that come along with them. Why? Because our name should reflect our actions and character as Believers. When I would visit my parents' hometown, people immediately knew who I was because not only did I look like my parents, but I had certain characteristics, mannerisms and cadence that had been displayed in them. Often times this would spark favor, laughter or nods of agreement from the person with whom I was interacting.


In the same respect, the Prophet Isaiah is reminding the nation of Israel that they belong to God and are still His chosen people. Contextually, the freed-from-Egypt but exiled-in-Babylon Israelites are feeling kinda blue. But God shows He is committed to them and the Covenant He has forged with them by reflecting on past victories and foreshadowing the coming Savior. His glory will be displayed in them, and their redemption and fulfilled promises will eventually erupt in praise and victory. What an encouragement to them and to us, especially when we've just walked through fire [or a rushing and dangerous sea!] and are desperate for God to lean down and hear our prayer.


The Devil will call us:

Defeated

Sick

Forsaken

Forgotten

Unloved

and more lies....


BUT GOD CALLS US:

  • Redeemed

  • Saved

  • Free

  • Healed

  • Delivered

  • Beloved

  • Friend

  • Child

  • Masterpiece and more Truths...


Trust me, if I don't answer to Pocahontas, I am certainly not going to answer to the Devil's labels. I am submitted to the Name above all names, Jesus. I am a child of God, and by no other name will I answer. I encourage you to do the same dear Masterpiece.





Takeaways for you to remember.

#1 As a Believer you belong to God and bear Christ's image.

#2 God calls you by His Name --> CHRISTians.

#3 God calls Believers His children.


Yours in Christ!


Dr. Quahana


Want to enjoy some of the Scriptures inspiring this entry?

[All Scripture listed is NLT version unless otherwise noted.]



Comments


bottom of page