top of page

"Catch Me If You Can"



1 Corinthians 9:24 - 27

" Don’t you realize that in a race everyone runs, but only one person gets the prize? So run to win! All athletes are disciplined in their training. They do it to win a prize that will fade away, but we do it for an eternal prize. So I run with purpose in every step. I am not just shadowboxing. I discipline my body like an athlete, training it to do what it should. Otherwise, I fear that after preaching to others I myself might be disqualified."

If you ask my momma how she would describe little Quahana, the first word out of her mouth would be Roadrunner. As in the colorful cartoon character that NEVER stopped moving but was always running and zipping about with gleeful purpose. In response, I always jokingly tell her, "You're welcome!", because I respectfully submit that my high octane running about was a contribution to her legendary trim, brick house figure. Now, I'll be honest and say that this week I was indulging in a bit of Biblical lament [grief, sorrow over something] that at this present moment, running, let alone racing is a hard "No" for me. I enjoy running about and being an athlete because both are a tangible and often immediate natural affirmation of one's hard work. Not to mention being active feels amazing and does wonders for your body, mind, spirit and mood [i.e. helps chase away unhealthy or excessive lament]. But an athlete's hard-won results are not accomplished overnight. They are chiefly the result of two things: Discipline and obedience.


And that is precisely the reason the Apostle Paul could use this analogy with himself as the example to instruct and encourage Timothy, the Corinthians and us of the race we are all in, ultimately against ourselves. Sadly, some won't win because they [1] won't run the race; [2] are disqualified by refusing to accept Christ or [3] are knocked out by taking their eyes off Jesus. But again, what do athletes have? Discipline and obedience. And what do Christians need? Discipline and obedience. And my friends, daily submitting to Christ is a discipline of obedience. I don't say this flippantly, because we all know that at first, discipline can be a struggle as you retrain yourself, your mind and your actions to align with Christ. But the sacrifice to obey will not go unnoticed or unrewarded by God. He notices and He rewards those that diligently seek Him above all else, submit to and obey Him. Successful discipline and obedience must be led by right thinking. For example, the misguided Saul was disciplined and obedient when he was wrongly persecuting Christians, but Jesus turned that around and the aligned Paul was even more disciplined and obedient to Jesus and rightly spreading the Gospel. Because again, right thinking leads to right living. Right living that remains faithful and committed to the Gospel. Right living that knows that sacrifice is not punishment: But a pursuit of God's Kingdom with determination and strength just as a runner pursues the finish line. The Heavenly prize of eternal life is the ultimate goal and worth the sacrifices in the natural. It is eternal and does not fade or tarnish like an ancient leafy wreath or a modern metal crown. Don't disqualify yourself when Christ has prequalified you for victory.


Today I encourage you to be obedient unto the Word of God by keeping your eyes fixed firmly on Jesus as you run your race. There will be sacrifice, there will be endurance needed, there will be perseverance required. But if you are thinking right, there will also be joy, righteousness, peace and there will be a reward. My brief moments this week of Biblical lament do not mean that I don't believe God has promised complete healing and restoration for me in His Word and confirmed it through His indwelling Holy Spirit, prophetic men and women of God and the miracle of healing that has already gone forth in my body. It simply means that I have had to humbly be extra disciplined in obediently speaking and believing His Truth over the natural facts that remain. In the natural that looks like continuing, in obedience, to daily submit to Him and His Word in every part of my life, including my daily workouts [running or not].


And you know what else? In His graciousness, God reminded me in this and other Scriptures that in the Spirit realm I still run and don't grow weary, pressing towards the mark and the glorious prize of a crown and eternal life! You all know I love me a crown! And I'll let you know what else I love; to win! In a race against myself I am the "one" that wins, because I have Jesus. And this win and this crown are better than any glittery jewels that could encircle my head. This is the crown of life, God's glory laying upon my head, telling all who look at me that this Masterpiece named Quahana lives to declare the works of the Lord and is assured of eternal life with Jesus. And when I am again Roadrunner running in the natural, don't you dare chase me. Better yet, catch me if you can! Because I run to win, and I pray you do to.


Takeaways for you to remember:

#1 Christians run individually against themselves to win the crown of eternal life.

#2 Jesus assures our victory.

#3 By discipline and obedience never lose sight of the finish line.



Yours in Christ!


Dr. Quahana


Want to enjoy some of the Scriptures inspiring this entry? [All Scripture listed is NLT version unless otherwise noted.]


Commentaires


bottom of page